Home -> Huainan City
Anhui overview
Anhui map
Main attractions
Have fun in Anhui
Recomments from travlers to travelers
Pool tour
Flights to Anhui
Discount Hotels in Anhui
China Packages               More..
Anhui Local tours         More..
Huainan City
Huainan (pinyin: Hu¨¢in¨¢n) is a prefecture-level city with 1,076,000 inhabitants in central Anhui province, People¡¯s Republic of China. It borders the provincial capital of Hefei to the south, Lu¡¯an to the southwest, Fuyang to the west, Bozhou to the northwest, Bengbu to the northeast and Chuzhou to the east.

The name traditionally refers to the entire area south of the Huai River and north of the Yangtze River, which includes the present day central Anhui. The historic political center of the Huainan area lay in Shouchun (present day Shou County).

The name Huainan first came into existence in 203 BC, when Liu Bang bestowed upon Ying Bu, one of his most trusted generals, the title of the King of Huainan. The capital of the Kingdom of Huainan was situated in the present day Lu¡®an. Later, after Ying Bu was ex ecuted, the title was transferred and the capital moved to Shouchun (present day Shou County).

In 164 BC, the kingdom was divided into three, one of which retained the name Huainan and continued to be administered from Shouchun. This was governed by Liu An, a notable scholar who authored the great Daoist classic, the Huainanzi. When Liu An committed suicide in 122 BC, the kingdom was abolished and the area renamed Jiujiang Commandery, which was its old name before 203 BC.

Towards the end of the Eastern Han Dynasty, Yuan Shu de clared himself emperor of the so-called Cheng Dynasty and renamed the commandery Huainan Commandery. This entity remained generally intact till the Northern Song Dynasty, when it divided into the eastern and the western halves in 1071. This division was converted to a north-south one, with the line drawn along the Huai River, following a peace pact between the ruling bodies of the Southern Song Dynasty and Jin Empire.

The divided state persisted till the area was claimed by the Communist Party of China on January 18, 1949. The party renamed the area Huainan Coalmine Special District for its rich coal resources.


Bagong Mountain:
Not only a famous tourist zone in Huainan but also a national geo-park, the mountain consists of some forty peaks. It is praised to be one of the birthplaces of the Chu-Han Culture, still leaving many historical sites, including ancient battlefield, private garden, old temple, pagoda and nunnery.

Shangyao National Forest Park:
Forest makes up the main landscape of the park, but it also has a great deal of historical and religious sites, such as the ancient temple built in Jin and Ming dynasties, cliffside inscriptions, caves, and stone bridge. It is an attraction that the nature and the buildings set off each other harmoniously.

Other Scenic Spots: Jiaogang Lake, Maoxian Dong (a Taoism immortal cave), Longhu Park

     Photo Album of Anhui